Another Week From Me To You

Standard

I made a promise to myself I was going to get back in the habit of writing after I cook, but I failed yet again. Is it too late to make it my Lenten promise? Ugh. To make this short and sweet, I’m just going to post the recipes I made this week. I’m hoping to get back on track with the whole posting after a meal thing. No complaints on anything I made this week :)

Sunday night I made chicken sausage with broccoli and brown rice. It was my first time trying chicken sausage and I was really pleased with it. They have different varieties of flavors so I’m anxious to try some different things with it now that I have discovered how delicious it is!

Monday night I cooked a few stuffed peppers. They were super filling and I probably made way more than I should have. We each only ate half of a pepper, but it was so darn good. The flavors of the ground turkey, corn, salsa and pepper blended together perfectly. Oh, and the fancy picture you’ll see below is courtesy of my boyfriend. He thought it’d be a fancy shot. He was right.

Tuesday I did what I promised myself I would do. I re-attempted spaghetti squash. I SUCCEEDED! I cut the squash in half, scooped out the seeds and placed them center side down in a baking dish with about an inch of water. I cooked mine until it was tender all the way to the skin, hoping to make it softer this time like spaghetti. After letting it cool, the squash basically came right out of the skin on it’s own. It was perfect. I dug a hole in the center and filled it with chicken, tomatoes and feta cheese. Topped with fresh basil, this was unbelievably good. I am so happy I figured out how to cook this the way Luke and I both liked it. He was even thinking of different sauces we need to try by the end of the night.

Wednesday I babysat till midnight so I ate the leftover squash. Thursday night I made chicken enchiladas. Using tomatoes instead of the classic red enchilada sauce, these were more up my alley. I’m not really a fan of the red cause but can always work with a verde style. I was looking for something healthy but still full of flavor and this was absolutely perfect. The shredded chicken is mixed with a creamy cheese sauce in which I substituted greek yogurt for sour cream to lower a few calories. Everyone should try this style; in my opinion it was way better than a classic enchilada.

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Chicken Sausage, Broccoli and Parmesan Brown Rice Dinner

slightly adapted from Picky Palate

yields 6 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 lb roasted garlic chicken sausage, thinly sliced
  • 4 cups broccoli florets, steamed
  • 4 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat olive oil into a large skillet over medium heat. Saute bell pepper for 5 minutes or until softened. Stir in garlic; cook for 1 minute then add chicken slices. Cook for 5 minutes or until chicken is browned on both sides. Add broccoli, rice and parmesan cheese. Cook for 2 minutes or so, then season with salt and pepper.
Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Stuffed Peppers

a Cricket’s Cooks recipe

yields 4 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 lb ground turkey, cooked
  • 1 tbsp taco seasoning (I made a homemade one, but a packaged one will work just the same)
  • 2 cups brown rice, cooked
  • 4 bell peppers, halved and seeds removed
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • 12 oz fresh salsa
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • fresh cilantro for topping

DIRECTIONS

  1. Pre heat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat the peppers in olive oil and roast in a baking dish for about 20-25 minutes. Allow to cool before adding stuffing.
  2. In a bowl, add the taco seasoning, ground turkey, corn, rice and salsa. Mix well.
  3. Spoon the mixture into each half of the peppers and place back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes. About halfway through, add cheddar cheese on top of each pepper, being sure to cook until cheese is melted through.
  4. Remove from oven and top with fresh cilantro.
Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Stuffed Spaghetti Squash with Tomato, Chicken & Feta

slightly adapted from Heat Oven to 350

yields 2 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash, cut in half lengthwise with seeds removed
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 3/4 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 14 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Arrange the spaghetti squash halves, cut side down, in the bottom of a shallow, microwave-safe bowl. Cover and microwave on high until flesh is tender (minimum of five minutes here but I cooked mine a little longer for a softer squash).
  2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the chicken and cook until browned on all sides, 3-5 minutes (if using already cooked chicken, skip this step and add the chicken with the tomatoes and seasonings). Add the tomatoes, basil and oregano, bring to a simmer, and simmer until chicken is cooked through, about another 5 minutes.
  3. Preheat the broiler.
  4. Flip the spaghetti squash over and, using a fork, pull the strands from it, making spaghetti-like pieces. Season the spaghetti with salt and pepper. Make a slight “hole” in the center of each squash half to make room for the filling, then spoon the filling into squash halves. Sprinkle the top of each with feta cheese. Transfer the stuffed squash to a baking sheet or roasting pan and place under the broiler. Broil until the cheese is golden brown, about 2 minutes, then serve.
Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Chicken Enchiladas

slightly adapted from Diethood

yields 3 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, reserved 1/3 for topping
  • 1/2 cup original greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 6 (8 inch) tortillas

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grease a 13×9-inch baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  3. Heat olive oil over medium-heat in a large skillet.
  4. Stir in garlic and continue to cook for 1 minute.
  5. Add chicken, 2/3 of the diced tomatoes, and greek yogurt; season with oregano, basil, onion powder, salt and pepper, and chili powder.
  6. Cook for 5 minutes, or until heated through.
  7. Mix in 1/2 of the shredded cheddar cheese.
  8. Spoon mixture down the center of each tortilla and roll up.
  9. Place seam side down in prepared baking dish.
  10. Bake for 10 minutes.
  11. Top with the rest of the diced tomatoes and shredded cheese.
  12. Return to oven and bake for 5 to 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.
Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Leave a Reply

