My Journey To Happiness Begins

Standard

Come one, come all! Welcome to my new blog! I decided to begin a cooking blog over the weekend. I am attempting (I would say definitely, but sometimes things just don’t work out like you planned) to start eating healthier in order to increase my positive outlook on life. I recently lost a close friend who battled with PTSD. While he might have been suffering in ways that were unknown or unseen by others, he could always put a smile on your face and make you laugh till you cried. He also had a strong passion for health and fitness. I can’t tell you how many time I got yelled at for eating a pizza over chicken (although there were plenty of times he ate pizza with me!). A few months have passed and I want to honor him in this way; by simply living my life to it’s fullest and enjoying the things he loved in life. This includes food, and lots of it. I love to cook, and I love to eat. So this should be easy, right?

So, I invite you all to join me on my journey. It could last a week or it could last years. I can only hope that I gain the strength to continue with this and benefit from these changes both on the inside and out. Let me begin by sharing with you the first “healthy” recipe I chose to try first! When meal planning for the week, I thought it would be easiest for me with my insane work schedule (I nanny 55 hours a week for 3 boys, ages 6-1) to make something ahead of time to have for the entire week. With that in mind, I stumbled upon these muffins from skinnytaste.com and knew they had to be first on my list.

Insanely Good Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

I mean, just look at them. Insanely good doesn’t even begin to describe these muffins. I made these bad boys on Sunday night and have breakfast for my boyfriend and I for the entire week. One of these with a banana or apple and you’re satisfied till lunch. I currently have mine wrapped up to keep fresh. I do know that you can freeze muffins and they will last for awhile, but I’m thinking that these are so moist already (from the oatmeal) that they’ll last me till Friday without the hassle!

I went for the cheaper option on the oatmeal and got a giant tub of Great Value whole wheat instant oatmeal so I can try different variations with this recipe! I did use almond milk, but went with the honey instead of agave. I realized I forgot to purchase cupcake holders as I was about to bake these, so I just sprayed the tin with Pam. They popped right out of the tin without any problems, but I would use liners next time. These muffins are so gooey and soft and the liner might help keep them together more once they cool! Take my advice and make these babies and even try with different fruit or chocolate chips.

Insanely Good Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

by Skinnytaste

Ingredients: 

  • 1 1/2 cups Quaker quick oatmeal
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or skim milk)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tbsp agave (or sugar, honey) 
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • baking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400°. Line a muffin tin with liners and lightly spray with oil.

Place oats in a food processor or chopper and pulse a few times. Soak oats in milk for about 30 minutes.

In a medium bowl combine brown sugar, agave, apple sauce, vanilla, egg whites, oil and mix well.

In a third bowl combine whole wheat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and whisk to combine.

Combine oats and milk with sugar, applesauce mixture and mix well. Slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in blueberries.

Spoon into the muffin tin and bake for 22-24 minutes.

 
Leave a Reply

