My First Dinner–A Success

Standard

Last night I made my first dinner on my new health kick. I chose a chicken dish that was full of flavor, served with roasted vegetables on the side. The recipe called for chicken thighs so I went with those, but you could easily use breasts (just cook it a little longer) if you’re not a fan of dark meat. I changed the recipe from the original, taking out some vegetables that neither my boyfriend or I like and cut it in half for the portion sizes. I really think you could use any vegetable with this dish and it will be just as delicious. I even had leftovers for lunch today, but my boyfriend cleared his plate! This was an easy meal and also involved little cleanup after (which is always a bonus for me!) My guinea pig of a boyfriend gave this one a thumbs up and said to definitely make it again.

Image

photo by Allyson Grillo

Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Vegetables

adapted from Skinnytaste

  • 4 chicken thighs (mine came on the bone with skin but I just took the skin off before starting)
  • 10 medium asparagus, ends trimmed, cut in half
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 orange bell pepper (next time I’ll use yellow for the color!)
  • 1/2 cup carrots, sliced in half long way
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 tbsp rosemary
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tsp sage

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425°. Prepare chicken accordingly (trim skin and fat if necessary). Combine all the ingredients together using your hands to arrange in a large roasting pan.

I ended up putting the chicken on one pan and the vegetables on the other. If using one pan, the vegetables should not touch the chicken or it will steam instead of roast.

All ingredients should be spread out in a single layer. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

