{I’m} Stuffed Pepper Soup

Standard

Wow. I. Am. Full. 

And happy. I’m having a lot of fun with this blog and I LOVE everything I’ve made so far. I already feel a million times better than I did on Sunday. I just feel good. The past two days I went on a 4-mile walk with the baby I nanny. The weather has been great and he loves being outside. Lately, he just points to everything we walk by and says “wahzzat”, which I’m pretty sure is his way of asking, “what’s that?”. Being outside also makes me happy. Walking makes me happy. Sam makes me happy. Food makes me happy. This is the best decision I’ve ever made.

We didn’t get the chance to get out today (Sam took a 3 hour nap!) but I can tell you that just in three days of eating better and walking, I’ve lost three pounds. I’m not even really striving to lose a ton of weight. I mean, it’d be great, but I really just hate feeling so bogged down when I don’t eat right. I’m getting some good feedback on this blog, so I hope you all enjoy this as much as I enjoy cooking the meals.

Tonight’s recipe was Stuffed Pepper Soup, and boy am I stuffed. The recipe serves 6 VERY HEAPING portions. Like, I couldn’t even eat half of my bowl it’s so filling. But it’s soooooo good. I’m probably going to eat this for lunch the next few days and I’m looking forward to it. That’s rare for me. My dad would die over this. Too bad my mom hates peppers…

 

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Stuffed Pepper Soup

by Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 lb 95% lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 cup finely diced onion (I used red onion)
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz each) cans petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 3/4 cups tomato sauce
  • 2 cups reduced sodium, fat-free chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, brown ground meat on high heat and season with salt. Drain fat if any, reduce heat to medium-low, then add peppers, onions and garlic. Cook about 5 minutes on low heat.

Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, marjoram and season with salt and pepper to taste. Cover and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes. Serve about 1 1/3 cups of soup in each bowl and top with 1/2 cup cooked brown rice.

One response »

Leave a Reply

