Worth Waiting For

Standard

Happy Friday!

I’m not sure about you, but I am in need of the weekend. Who am I kidding? I’m always in need of a weekend. This week seemed to fly by! It’s Mardi Gras time, so I’m sure many of you will be celebrating. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to venture to Soulard or not. My boyfriend and I are going to a concert tomorrow night that I’m actually really excited about. It’s his favorite band so I’m sure it’s going to be a good time!

First things first, let me tell you that the blueberry muffins I made for breakfast all week are still just as good as they were on Monday. Seriously, I’m eating one now. All I did was put them on a giant plate and wrap it in aluminum foil (we still have ZERO tupperware at the apartment and yes it’s on the shopping list, along with a garlic press). I honestly thought they would dry out towards the end of the week and that I’d have to start freezing them. But I don’t see this being a problem in my future! They are still moist and full of flavor! I’m also still eating the stuffed pepper soup. That will be my dinner tonight since I’m working a double (woof).

Now for the important stuff:

Feta cheese. I LOVE feta cheese.

I could probably just eat a block of it if I allowed myself. That would probably defeat the purpose of my new “healthy” eating though, you think? Instead of eating a pound of feta, how about we find a dish that we can throw a little on top? Friends, I bring to you, Lemon Feta Chicken with Oregano. Another chicken thigh dish covered in garlic powder, oregano, salt, pepper and lemon juice and then topped with feta cheese at the end for the perfect touch. I served mine with leftover asparagus from Monday’s balsamic chicken and veggies dish. I made it simple and just tossed the asparagus in a little bit of olive oil and a squeeze of the lemon juice and pan fried it. YUM.

This dish took a little longer than I expected, but there were several factors that played into this. You see, yesterday morning when I woke up in a daze at 6:45am, I forgot to pull out the chicken to thaw. On top of that, the keys got locked inside the apartment (don’t worry, my boyfriend managed to break the door down later…). By the time he was able to get inside and I got off work, it was almost 7:00pm. It took me another 30 minutes to defrost the chicken and then about an hour to prepare and cook it. So, as you can imagine, I was losing my temper with this dish and was about ready to call it quits. Boy, am I glad I stuck with it. AMAZING. The seasoning on the chicken gave it a nice crunch on top along with a ton of flavor. And the feta cheese on top? Love. Pure love. (I even cheated a little a sprinkled some extra cheese on my asparagus. Don’t tell the scale.) While it took me all night to get ready, sitting down and putting the first bite in my mouth made it totally worth it. Next time, I won’t be so sleep droned and remember to pull out the chicken!

PS. I made pancakes for the boys today and only had one! I was proud of myself, so I wanted to share 🙂

PPS. If you want to see what I’m cooking right away, follow me on Instagram @cricketscooks!

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Lemon Feta Chicken with Oregano

adapted from Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken thighs (mine came with skin and bone, I just cut the skin off before cooking)
  • juice of half a lemon (I used a little of the leftover for the asparagus)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • feta cheese, crumbled, to sprinkle on top (about 1/4 cup)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°. Trim all fat off chicken. Season chicken with salt, pepper, oregano, garlic powder, and lemon juice. Place in a roasting pan and bake for about 35 – 40 minutes (mine took closer to 50, I would just check after 40 and see!). When chicken is cooked, remove from the oven and sprinkle with feta.

Broil on low for about 2-3 minutes, until cheese is golden brown (careful not to burn). Serve with your favorite vegetable or salad! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

