Family & Photos

Standard

Happy Tuesday! (Shout out to my main girl Marge today!)

It’s been a few days since I posted. Mainly because dinner was taken care of for me the past few nights. Kind of nice, eh? Sunday afternoon, Luke and I modeled for some photos for his brother and sister-in-law. Melissa is starting up her own photography business and asked Luke and I to help with her portfolio! It was a little chilly and rainy but we still managed to find some great spots in Larson Park. I haven’t seen the pictures yet, but I have no doubt she did an amazing job.

After we took photos, we stayed at his parents for dinner. Luke’s mom made lasagna, bread and salad. IT WAS SO GOOD. I had two helpings, not gonna lie. (I also hadn’t eaten all day, so I was STARVING.) I made dessert, a chocolate eclair cake, that turned out way better than I had expected. It was pretty easy to make, although my mom has a recipe that I like a lot better. But hey, it’s always good to try out new ideas!

I had a lot of fun on Sunday. It was nice to hang out and relax after our long weekend. Plus we got to play with Luke’s nephew, Sam. He’s seven months and as cute as a baby can be. He just started crawling, so the new thing is to watch him in amazement while he tries to figure out what he’s doing. Babies are so cool. After we left I got to watch The Grammy’s while making some chocolate chip muffins for breakfast this week. I was pleased with Mumford & Sons taking home best album of the year. It was definitely on my list of favorites this year! Hope everyone had a great weekend and is having a good start to the week!

Image

Chocolate Eclair Cake

from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients:
1 cup water
1/2 cup butter
1 cup flour
4 large eggs
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 large box (5.1 ounces) vanilla instant pudding
3 cups milk
1 8 oz. container cool whip
chocolate syrup

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 400. Lightly grease a 9″X13″ glass baking pan.

Eclair Crust: In a medium saucepan, melt butter in water and bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Stir in flour. Mix in one egg at a time, mixing completely before adding another egg. Spread mixture into pan, covering the bottom and sides evenly. *If the sides of your pan are too greased you won’t be able to get the mixture to stay up the sides so make sure to just lightly grease. The dough is very sticky so flouring your hands before hand will help for this process.

Bake for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown (Mine only took 25 minutes. It also looked awful when I first took it out until I read comments on the original recipe and others had the same turn out.) You may want to check it occasionally-you don’t want to overcook the crust, it will ruin the cake! Remove from oven and let cool (don’t touch or push bubbles down).

Filling: Whip cream cheese in a medium bowl. In separate bowl make vanilla pudding. Make sure pudding is thick before mixing in with cream cheese. Slowly add pudding to cream cheese, mixing until there are no lumps. Let cool in fridge.When the crust is completely cooled, pour filling in. Top with layer of cool whip however thick you want it and serve with chocolate syrup.

Leave a Reply

