Pesto, Schmesto

Standard

PESTO MOZZARELLA GRILLED CHEESE.

Are you interested in continuing yet? 

Good.

Saturday was a relatively quiet day for me. I had the day off but had an early eye doctor appointment. I was about six months over-due for my checkup and desperately in need of new contacts. Thanks to my loving mother (I tend to blame her for my awful eyes), I lost a little more vision in my left eye, but nothing too serious. The good news is, I probably won’t be blind by the time I’m thirty (which a doctor told me once…we switched doctors not long after that). I went home to do some laundry and hang out with Bailey. That dog is the weirdest beagle I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting, that is for sure. I ended my afternoon with the weekly grocery shopping! I planned a pretty good week (if I do say so myself) and am really excited to share the recipes with you all soon!

By the time Luke got off work, I knew he wouldn’t want to wait around for me to make a fancy shmancy meal. I opted for a grilled cheese, but with a little twist. I bought some mini ciabatta rolls for the bread (you could obviously use whatever type of bread you want…I just so happen to have a weird obsession with ciabatta ever since I discovered the Italian Combo at Panera Bread). Buying the smaller rolls allowed me to make two sandwiches for each of us which was plenty for dinner. I didn’t make a side, but if you end up with a smaller sandwich you could serve this with some veggies or chips on the side!

This sandwich was to die for. I mean, who doesn’t love stringy mozzarella smothered in pesto layered in between two crunchy pieces of bread that has been topped with butter and parmesan? Uh huh, no one. That’s what I thought. Luke even requested this again late last night as a “snack” and to my knowledge, ended up using the leftover cheese and pesto on a tortilla this morning with a fried egg. The endless possibilities of pesto!

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Pesto Grilled Cheese

slightly adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod

Ingredients:

2 slices ciabatta (or whatever bread you prefer)
1 tablespoon soft butter, for brushing the bread
2 slices reduced-fat mozzarella cheese
2 tablespoons basil pesto
1/3 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat.

2. Butter the outside of each slice of bread. Spread basil pesto on the inside of each slice of bread. Place the mozzarella cheese slices on top of one piece of bread. Top with the other slice of bread. Sprinkle half of the Parmesan cheese on the outside of one side of the sandwich.

3. Place the sandwich, cheese side down, on the hot pan. Grill for 2 minutes or until Parmesan cheese is crusted and golden brown. Sprinkle the rest of the Parmesan cheese on the outside of the other side of the sandwich. Cook until golden brown and the cheese has melted, about 2 more minutes. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

