A Little Pizzaz On Pizza

Standard
naan pizza--chicken spinach feta

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Pizza is probably one of the most versatile foods out there. I’m a big fan of foods like that. Sandwiches, pasta, pizza–all things that you can do just about anything you desire. I like my pizza hot, cold, on thin crust, on thick crust, with lots of meat or with lots of veggies. You really couldn’t go wrong with serving me a hunk of anything that has sauce and toppings on it. And cheese. Make sure you put lots of cheese on that hunk.

I stumbled upon this recipe for naan pizza a few weeks ago and have been dying to try it ever since. I knew of the concept, using flatbreads for a “healthier” version of pizza. I’m not sure about the healthy part. You’re still eating a crap ton of carbs, but whatever. Regardless, it is a little lighter and allows you to fill up more on the toppings (which is really the best part anyway).You could do this with pita bread too and still get similar results. I happen to have a weird obsession (discussed in my Valentine’s Day post) with naan though. It’s so good. My guess is they mix drugs in the batch. That’s how they get me to buy packages of it every time I’m at Schnuck’s (which is the winner so far on my naan excursions–if you know of other good naan buys, please do inform me!!)

This pizza is topped with tons of spinach, chicken and feta cheese to give you the perfect combo of flavors. Everything complimented each other and it was super filling! I ended up only eating half of mine and saved the other half for lunch (which was just as good as seconds!). I tried to save some energy and popped them in the toaster over to cook but next time I’ll go with the oven. I think I could get the bread a little crispier that way. Either way, this was really easy and really good. Now go make it. GO!

PS: Sam has officially started walking EVERYWHERE today. FINALLY! Now if only this weather would warm up so we can get those little legs a goin’! Until then, you can find me playing with toy cars and musical instruments 🙂

 

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Chicken, Spinach & Feta Naan Pizza

from The New Abs Diet Cookbook

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp marinara sauce
1 large round pita or other flatbread
1/3 cup frozen spinach, defrosted and drained
¼ cup crumbled feta cheese
3/4 cup chopped, precooked chicken breast
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Spread the marinara over the pita. Top with the spinach, feta cheese, and chicken. Season with salt and pepper. Bake a 375 F for 6 minutes.

(I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts for this. I cut the chicken into smaller cubes before cooking, then pan fried in a little bit of olive oil till finished. I sprinkled with some pepper for flavoring before adding chicken to the pizza.)

One response »

Leave a Reply

