Several Recipes To Make Up For Lost Time

Standard

Wow, have I been busy. Or maybe I’ve just been too sick to realize where the time went? I’ve only been battling a cold sine Sunday night, but it feels like forever since I could breathe out of my nose. Luke has it too. We’re still not sure who got infected first, but he seems to have it worse than me. I feel kind of bad, because normally I’d be whipping up some soup to help us. However, I have been so exhausted from this thing that I’ve barely even made myself lunch this week.

I worked a long weekend which always seems to throw off the following week. And it definitely has. I haven’t gone grocery shopping for this week and it’s already Wednesday. I’m thinking I should just wait at this point. No sense in trying to squeeze in time after work when I can probably survive a few days longer. That being said, when I do go to the store I need to be prepared for a full out buy. Food is slim pickings in the apartment due to my lack of energy. (Luke, I’m apologizing for this torture although it doesn’t seem to be bothering you).

Being lazy on the cooking side means I’ve also been lazy on the blogging side. I have about four recipes to share with everyone so instead of making all separate posts, I’m just going to make one long one. I’m sorry for the inconvenience, but I’m honestly too tired to type. It’s only 9:30am…

Here starts the long (yet delicious!) list of recipes, from Luke’s kitchen to yours!

PS: A grocery trip means more meal planning, so stay tuned for next week 🙂

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Baked Pesto Chicken

adapted slightly from The South Beach Diet Quick and Easy Cookbook

Ingredients: 
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
salt and fresh ground black pepper for seasoning chicken
1/2 cup basil pesto
2 oz. (1/2 cup) grated low-fat mozzarella cheese

Instructions: 
Preheat oven to 375F. Trim all visible fat and tendons from chicken pieces, then cut each chicken breast lengthwise into 2 or 3 pieces.
Spray a 9″ x 12″ (or 8.5″ X 12.5″) baking dish with non-stick spray, then spread 1/4 cup basil pesto over the bottom of the dish. Lay chicken strips over the pesto, then spread 1/4 cup more basil pesto over the chicken.
Cover the baking dish with aluminum foil  and bake the chicken for 25-30 minutes, just until chicken is barely firm and cooked through.
When chicken is barely cooked through, remove foil and sprinkle chicken with 1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese. Put dish back into the oven without foil and cook 10 minutes more, just until cheese is melted.Serve hot. There will be some flavorful juice in the bottom of the dish when this is done, so you may want to serve with rice, couscous, or quinoa to soak up the juice.
*I used the juice and poured it over our asparagus and then tossed the extra with some pasta for the man on the couch (who is not a veggie fan).
Image
Pork Loin with Pan Sauce
slightly adapted by Chef Mommy
Ingredients:
1⁄2 cups olive oil
1⁄3 cup soy sauce
1⁄4 cup red wine vinegar
Juice of 1 lemon
1-2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1-2 tbsp parsley
2 tsp  grey poupon mustard
Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste
4 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
1 1-lb. pork loin fillet (YOU CAN USE PORK TENDERLOIN but I found a pork loin fillet for $1 and it was AMAZING)Directions:
Combine all marinade ingredients and reserve 2-3 Tbsp. Place the pork loin and marinade in a Ziplock bag and let marinate for at least 3-4 hours.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a hot skillet over medium-high heat, sear each side of loin for 2-3 minutes. Place in the oven and cook for 30-40 minutes or until the meat has reached 160 degrees. Let rest for at least 5 minutes before slicing.Pan Sauce:
Pan scrapings from pork loin
1/2 cup of chicken broth
2-3 tbsp of pork marinade (thoroughly mixed)
1-2 tsp butter

Meanwhile, place the skillet back on the stove over medium heat. Add the chicken broth and scrape up all the browned pieces from the bottom of the pan. Add the marinade and let it boil down for 2-3 minutes. Add the butter and remove from heat stirring until butter has melted. Pour over the pork tenderloin.

*I used a little bit of the leftover marinade to saute the asparagus in a pan over medium-high heat. SO GOOD.
Image
Shrimp Enchiladas Verde

Ingredients:

1 lb frozen cooked shrimp (cocktail shrimp are great for this!), defrosted

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

28 oz green enchilada sauce

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup sour cream (reduced fat is fine)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 4-oz can diced fire roasted green chilies

8 oz shredded “Mexican Blend” cheese (or Monterey Jack)

12-14 corn tortillas ( I actually used whole wheat and they ended up a little soggy, but it was already a messy dish and still went well with a fork!)

fresh cilantro for serving

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Roughly chop your cooked shrimp (I forgot this step on accident and they still turned out great!) and place in a large bowl with 1/4 cup enchilada sauce, cumin, chili powder, salt, cayenne pepper, diced green chilies and sour cream. Mix well until everything is well combined.

Pour about 2/3 cup enchilada sauce into the bottom of a 9 x 13 inch pan. Soften your corn tortillas by placing each in a hot skillet for about 10-20 seconds each side. Then, place about 1/4 cup shrimp filling into each hot tortilla along with a sprinkle of cheese. Roll up tortilla and place seam-side down in the pan. Repeat until you have used up all your shrimp filling. (You might have a few extra enchiladas that don’t fit—place them in a small pan).

Pour remaining enchilada sauce over the pan and sprinkle cheese on top. Cover with tin foil and bake for 20 minutes, then remove the foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Serve with extra salsa, hot sauce and fresh cilantro.

Image
Oh, and here is a spicy shrimp pasta dish Luke made for me last week! I tried watching what he threw in the pan to blog about it, but he was moving too fast (mainly because I think he wanted it to be a secret) for me to catch it all! Just know that it was spicy. So spicy I drank milk with it. But it was amazingly good. I love cooking, but food always tastes better when someone else makes it for you 🙂
Photo by Allyson Grillo

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Leave a Reply

