Getting Back On Track

Standard

What a weird week.

That is literally all I have to say about it. I was sick in the beginning and then busy towards the end. On top of that, the kitchen became empty too early for me to care about eating healthy. I got super off track this week and need to get back on it. I went to Trader Joe’s this afternoon and stocked up on groceries for the week–I AM READY!

I have a boat load of recipes I plan on making so get ready to read and head to your own store! I’m already making a few things ahead of time for the whole week. I plan on baking some chicken breasts tonight for a few dinners later this week that call for shredded and chopped chicken. I figure it will be much easier to have it ready to go on a week night than have to wait for it to cook the day of. You see? I’m getting the hang of this lifestyle!

After TJ’s, I came back and cleaned Luke’s entire apartment. I was just in one of those moods. I then baked a flourless chocolate cake. I know, I should stop making desserts if I want to eat healthier. But it’s seriously so hard. I’m trying out some recipes that are “healthier” and found this cake recipe through Weight Watchers. It was really easy to make and tastes amazing. You would never know that there isn’t flour and the texture is so rich and creamy, almost like a brownie. I ate my slice tonight with a few strawberries. That was smart…right?

For dinner, I made another take-out fake-out dish. My last version of beef and broccoli turned out so well that I was dying to try a different Chinese meal. Tonight, I chose sesame chicken with broccoli. This version is WAY healthier than any restaurant and tastes even better. I don’t really have anything to steam vegetables in at the moment so I threw my broccoli in a skillet and covered for a few minutes and it steamed pretty well. Just be careful not to burn it if you use my method. 

Tomorrow, look for a recipe for a cinnamon quinoa breakfast bake and whatever I decide to make for dinner!

 

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Lighter Sesame Chicken

by Iowa Girl Eats

serves 2

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup brown rice
1/4 cup honey
2 Tablespoons sesame seeds
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 garlic clove, minced
1 egg white
2 Tablespoons cornstarch
2 small chicken breasts (12oz), cut into 2″ pieces
salt & pepper
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
2 green onions, chopped
2 cups broccoli florets

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Prepare rice according to package directions. Meanwhile, combine honey, sesame seeds, soy sauce, and garlic together in a small bowl then set aside. In a separate larger bowl, whisk together egg white and cornstarch until smooth. Season chicken pieces with salt and pepper then add to egg white mixture and toss to evenly coat.
  2. In a small saucepan, steam broccoli until crisp tender then set aside.
  3. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, then carefully add chicken. Cook for 3-4 minutes a side, or until cooked through. Turn off heat and remove skillet from burner. Add prepared sauce and green onions then toss to combine. Stir in broccoli, then scoop mixture into bowls over cooked rice.

 

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Flourless Chocolate Cake

by Weight Watchers

serves 10 slices

INGREDIENTS:

4 (1 ounce) squares semisweet chocolate
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3 eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
powdered sugar (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 300 F. Grease an 8 inch round cake pan and dust with cocoa powder. If you want to ensure the cake comes out then cut a circle of parchment paper for the bottom and grease and dust with cocoa powder. Put chocolate and butter in a metal or glass bowl over a pan of simmering water or use a double boiler to melt the chocolate and butter. The second the chocolate melts, remove from heat. Stir in sugar, cocoa powder, eggs, and vanilla. Pour into pan and bake for 30 minutes. If removing from pan, let cool in pan for 10 minutes and turn out onto wire rack. Dust with powdered or granulated sugar if desired.

Leave a Reply

