A Lazy Saturday With Hummus Chicken

Standard

I did absolutely nothing today. I have a lot to do, but when I went to bed last night I thought to myself, “I’m just going to wake up when I wake up.” And that’s exactly what I did. Noon was about the time I finally rolled over to look at my phone and check my messages. I thought about going grocery shopping. I considered getting my car door fixed at the Chevy dealer. I considered going home and doing laundry. I didn’t get out of bed to do anything productive until 7:00pm. Not kidding.

It felt great. I haven’t had one of those days in a long time. Luke came home from work and lounged with me for a bit before I decided to finally get out of bed and cook dinner. While my handy boyfriend ran to the store for a lemon, I whipped together this hummus crusted chicken with some left over zucchini I was in desperate need to get rid of. I had a spicy hummus on hand, but I think any flavor would work really well with this dish. I baked the chicken on top of the zucchini, leaving a ton of juices to serve with the vegetable.

It’s supposed to snow here in St. Louis tomorrow. 5-8 inches during the day and then another 1-3 expected at night. I plan on going to the store tomorrow and possibly having dinner at my parent’s house. I thought it was Spring? I have enjoyed winter but I am ready to admit it is time for sunshine and green grass. Anyone else with me? Stay warm, readers!

Image

Photo by Allyson Grillo

Hummus Crusted Chicken

slightly adapted from Gimme Some Oven

 

yields 2 servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 baby zucchini, or one large zucchini
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup hummus of choice (store-bought or homemade)
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp paprika

DIRECTIONS

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper and set aside. Toss zucchini with olive oil, salt and pepper.
  2. Place zucchini in an 8×8 baking dish then place chicken breasts on top of zucchini. Top chicken with hummus, making sure to cover entire breast.
  3. Squeeze juice from half the lemon over the chicken and vegetables, then sprinkle with paprika. Finally, thinly slice the other lemon half and place slices on top of chicken.
  4. Place baking dish in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. 

 

Leave a Reply

